I smell strawberry cream, the strawberry cream that glue togethet the thin wafers that I used to love as a kid. 

Grandma would have two different plastic boxes (used laundry powder boxes) for her biscuits, the blue one for savoury biscuits, and pink for sweet. I would always go for the pink box because I knew there would be strawberry wafers, or chocolate. 


I think this is called the kewpie doll. I can’t remember what it was called when I was small, but dad bought me one then, and I used to bite and chew it like a maniac.

The Sunday just past, the whole family and Mr M went to an old toys mart organised by a local collector. I wasn’t expecting to buy anything, until I saw this kewpie doll at one of the stalls. “I’ll have one of that, please,” said dad while pulling out his wallet. At 34 years old, I have the sweet fucking honour to be gifted the same doll by the same man.